Reviews

 

 

“Perfect hide-away”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Reviewed Jun 19, 2016 for a stay in Jun 2016

River Ken Cottage makes a perfect hide-away offering peace and tranquility in a beautiful remote location. The owners are lovely people and very helpful, on hand nearby to give any assistance needed. The lodge is immaculately presented, and very well appointed with quality fittings. Ideal comfortable accommodation for two, plus the provision of additional sleeping in the eaves if required! The grounds surrounding the lodge are superbly maintained, making it a truly enjoyable place to relax after a days touring around Dumfries and Galloway. The only sounds generally heard are the wildlife and flow of the river behind the lodge. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a secluded retreat, with many walks on the doorstep, and throughout the alluring Galloway forest. Very sad to leave following a wonderful weeks stay, but hope to return before too long. Thank you Bente and John for your hospitality and making this such a perfect escape.

“A perfect Retreat”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Reviewed on Jun 7, 2016 for a stay in Jun 2016

We spent 4 nights at the cottage and returned home feeling totally refreshed and relaxed. The cottage itself is very well equipped and has everything needed for a comfortable stay. The owners were away so we were greeted warmly by their assistant Brent and his 3 friendly dogs! The location is just amazing and adds to a real sense of peace and serenity. We had a walk into the hills from the cottage and saw no-one else in 4 hours. We did however see birds and wildlife which was always our aim. A great stay. Highly recommended.

“A perfect retreat in a tranquil setting!”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Left on Oct 17, 2015 for a stay in Sep 2015

We recently stayed at River Ken Cottage for a 2 night short break which we booked to break our journey on the way back up from a stay in Wiltshire to home in central Scotland. We also particularly chose this area for is closeness to the Galloway Forest Park area & dark skies site for telescoping & star gazing which is a hobby. We were not disappointed! Due to horrendous traffic we arrived very late. The cottage was so lovely & warm, cosy & welcoming when we arrived. The heating was on & low lights & it was such a welcoming place! This lodge is furnished with quality furnishings to a high standard & the exceptional design and clever use of space is brilliant! We loved it. It’s very well kitted out with all you need & we could have stayed much longer. The owner was so friendly, generous & helpful. Although the lodge is close to the owner’s own home this was not a problem at all, given how secluded the area is, it was actually reassuring to know they were nearby and there’s no compromising of privacy. It’s a wonderful peaceful and tranquil setting,. The only sounds to be heard being the running of the water in the river behind the lodge. We were able to sit outside and have breakfast in the sunshine in the morning. I cannot recommend this property highly enough , especially for couples. It’s a very romantic setting. However, for those who have a young child (the sleeping space up the ladder would be perfect for children young enough to cope with getting up the ladder and provides a lovely “den”. for sleeping) Well equipped, well furnished, well paced for the National Park & I cannot recommend highly enough! We’ll definitely be returning! The star gazing was very impressive too, ideal location! All in all, a prefect short break in quality accommodation, with friendly and helpful owner who knows how to deliver high quality customer service in a natural friendly way 🙂 Thank you Bente!

“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!”

Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from spending five lovely, relaxing days at the River Ken Cottage. We both really enjoyed the rest after from it all. The cottage is of a really high standard with a fully equipped kitchen and freezer. We have really loved our stay and have recommended to everyone we know. The scenery was fantastic, the weather was exceptional and we can’t wait to come back, which we certainly will. It is the kind of place that I know we will end up living one day, away from it all, hopefully not in the too far distant future.

“Peaceful”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Good quiet location away from it all but easy to find thanks to the directions sent by the owner. Cottage is well supplied with every thing you need for your stay , just make sure you don’t forget anything food + drink wise as the nearest shop is about 9 miles away in Moniaive. Waking to the sounds of the river and birds was a pleasant change to the sirens etc I normally here in the city

“Didn’t want to go home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My wife and I arrived on the Saturday for a week’s holiday and although it rained most of the time, it really didn’t spoil anything at all. It’s such a lovely place, the cottage is perfect situated by the river, it has everything you need to be comfortable. I can imagine it would be nice and cosy in the winter. We went for walks most days or for rides on the bikes. The deer can be seen every day, , it is quite isolated and quiet which is nice when you live on an estate in Stockport.

We didn’t get to see the owners as they were away at the time. But we were left in the capable hands of Brent a very nice young man who also runs the stalking business. The week seemed to be over too soon, it was a sad feeling to leave, especially knowing what we were going back to. We can’t wait to go back for another week. It is such a great place to stay a real credit to the owners. I wouldn’t be able to praise it enough.
Thanks for a wonderful stay, hope to be back soon.

“Idyllic Hideaway, cant wait to return.”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             5 of 5 stars reviewed 27 January, 2014

As we neared our destination, the road became one single track, in the middle of nowhere. We knew then that we had made the right choice.
We were even more blown away by the cottage, right on the river, with breathtaking views and so tranquil. It really is a peace of heaven. The owners have supplied every need, even a spice rack, coffee & tea, even down to slippers in a basket by the door.
The bed was so comfortable. Fantastic shower,
Everything is kept spotlessly clean.
We were privileged to be invited by the owners to their home, a short distance away to celebrate New Year with them, what fantastic hosts!!
Whilst at the cottage, my husband enjoyed a couple of trips stalking nearby
This place really is perfect for romance, and to get away from it all.
We really cant wait to return.
It is impossible not to fall in love with River Ken Cottage.

“Tranquil”
5 of 5 stars reviewed 27 January, 2014

Had an absolutely amazing stay! The cabin was fantastic and is so underpriced for what you get! The river behind the cabin adds to the beauty as does the scenery! If your thinking of getting away for some peace and relaxation I would definitely recommend.

“Owners are as amazing as the surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Walking, strolling, bird watching running, mountain biking, rock climbing, quiet romantic spots, streams, rivers, lochs, peace and quiet, great place for all the above and more.              Stargazing on the veranda at night was fantastic, a nearby forest has a ark sky award for low light pollution and this place, the stars, wow, lovely.                                                                        Walking, there are several peaks nearby and beautiful views, can be dangerous when the weather comes in though, so plan walks well. Easy to navigate in this area due to the valleys and peaks, plenty of deer, I saw an Otter only 50 metres away from the lodge, I was only 2 metres away from him/her.

First morning I woke up there, I looked out the window at the stream and was greeted by a lesser spotted woodpecker, I saw Red Kytes, Buzzards and many more.                                           Haven’t got a single bad thing to say about the place.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               I was there when we had a crazy amount of snow, I was snowed in at the end of my time and the owners were extremely accommodating, was splendid, cosy, delightful.

Kitchen was well stocked with everything one needed and the lodge was warm, even in the worst of the snow, want to get snowed in there again!                                                                                  Will be there again.

“I visited Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

In May I stayed at the River Ken Cottage. I had chosen it among others, as the surroundings looked so tranquil, which was just what I needed. The location was perfect, the air clean and the hills beautiful…my next door neighbour was the river Ken, who´s quiet stream sang a quiet lullaby each evening.
The cottage was perfect: clean, and had everything I needed.
The long walks were beautiful, even on a rainy day! I saw plenty of wild life, especially deer and foxes, sheep, and was lucky enough to even see a black grouse, among plenty of other birds. I was happy I brought my binoculars! The setting was so very romantic!
But to top it all, the owners were extremely helpful with everything, and truly made me feel welcome…and yet they respected my privacy too, which I was very grateful for. I cannot recommend this place high enough….I´m sure I´ll be back every year, just hoping they will be able to accomodate me again!!
Sincerely
Dorthe Bentley

 

Leave a Reply